About Us

 our club is your club

The Bayview Yacht Racing Association (BYRA) is both a dinghy racing and yacht club based on Pittwater, in Sydney’s northern beaches. We offer some of the best water access and sailing conditions in Sydney. The club boasts a proud history of producing state, national and world champions and is a friendly family club with a strong sense of community.

We offer dinghy racing on Sunday afternoons from September to May. New members and visitors are always welcome to join our existing fleets or introduce a new class to the club.

BYRA has a strong focus on skills development, and offers learn to sail programs, Junior sailing on Sunday mornings, introduction to racing, race training and other support as requested. BYRA has an ongoing commitment to supporting junior sailors and fostering their sailing skills, from learn-to-sail programs through to elite competition. Our dinghy Instructors are experienced sailors qualified under the auspices of the national sailing body Australian Sailing.

 we run on volunteers

BYRA is run entirely by volunteers, and we welcome you to get involved at the club, whether in race organisation, on our Support boats, periodical Working Bees, in the canteen or in the many other jobs associated with keeping our club operating smoothly.

You’ll always recognise a BYRA sailor by their smile and friendly welcome, and that’s just as important to us as doing well on the race course.

our committee

BYRA’s Committee comprises of volunteers. Office bearers are re-elected each year at the Annual General Meeting, normally held in May. The Committee’s mission is to grow the club while maintaining its family atmosphere.

The Committee performs the many duties involved in running BYRA and organizes regular social activities, along with working bees to keep our amazing facilities in good shape. The committee meets one evening a month throughout the year.

Members are encouraged to join the committee to play an active role in the club. To learn more about volunteering, click here.

To contact any Committee member, or to raise an item you would like discussed at the next committee meeting, we welcome you to contact us.


Executive Officers

Commodore – Leah Singer

Vice Commodore – George Sadlik

Rear Commodore – Mindy Meehan

Club Captain – Henry Zylmans

Vice-Captain – Gavin Jones

Treasurer – Ian Ward

Hon. Secretary – Henry Zylman

Committee Members

Registrar – Ian Ward

Race Secretary – Henry Zylmans

Hall Hire – John Simmonds

Publicity Officer – Mindy Meehan

Committee – Barry Warlum

Committee - Ian Urban


Office Bearers

Keelboat Matters – Henry Zylmans

Past Commodore – James Roberts

Club Patron – Jeff Jenkinson